As a part of the DeskTime reseller program, you will be managing your clients in the Reseller Portal. We have described the process of adding new clients in another article (Adding new clients as a reseller), but this article will focus on managing your existing clients as a reseller.
Navigating the Reseller Portal ‘Clients’ tab
The Clients tab of the Reseller Portal displays a summary of all your existing clients (number of active and inactive clients, and the upcoming invoice total). Below these three cards, there is a table of all your clients.
You can use the search box to find the client by name, filter only active or suspended accounts, or sort data by column in ascending or descending order. Keep in mind that due to the number of columns that must be displayed, you might have to scroll the table horizontally.
- ID: Unique number for each client, assigned automatically upon creation.
- Account name: The name of the client (business name or account).
- Created: The date on which you added this client to your Reseller Portal.
- User seats: The number of seats included in the client’s DeskTime subscription.
- User count: The number of DeskTime user accounts created within the client’s organization (each employee requires their own user account to use DeskTime and track time).
- Plan: The client’s current DeskTime subscription plan.
- Period: The client’s billing cycle (monthly, annual).
- Monthly amount: The client's monthly subscription fee (at your reseller discount). Note that the annual subscriptions in this column show their estimated monthly value (annual subscription cost / 12).
- Invoices: Lifetime count of invoices for this client.
- Last invoice status: Shows if the client has outstanding invoices that require attention before their service is suspended.
- Next invoice date: The date on which the next invoice will be sent for this client.
- Status: The client’s current status (active, suspended)
- Trial ends: The end date of the user’s 14-day free trial.
- Tracking status: DeskTime usage by the client within the past 7 days (active, low activity, inactive, suspended).
Reseller client status (Active, Suspended)
Each reseller client may have one of the following statuses:
- Active: The client has access to DeskTime time tracking. Either they are using a 14-day free trial as new clients, or have become paying customers. Their subscription fee will be added to your next invoice at the end of their current billing cycle.
- Suspended: The client no longer has access to DeskTime time tracking. While their status is Suspended, they are not paying customers and will not be added to your next invoice. If the client wishes to resume their subscription, you can press the Activate button.
Tracking status
One of the columns in the table is Tracking status, which shows an overview of each client's DeskTime usage for the past 7 days. Each row will show one of the following labels:
- 🟢 Active: More than 50% of the client’s users have tracked time with DeskTime during the past week. (Example: the client has 60 seats, and 45 users have used DeskTime).
- 🟡 Low activity: Less than 50% of the client’s users have tracked time with DeskTime during the past week. (Example: the client has 60 seats, but only 15 users have used DeskTime).
- ⚠️Inactive: No tracking activity by any user in the past week, even though the client’s subscription or trial is still ongoing.
- 🔴 Suspended: This client’s account is suspended by you, which means that they do not have access to time tracking.
Editing client details in the Reseller Portal
When you press the Edit button, you will see a pop-up form where you can make changes to the client’s account. Keep in mind that you cannot modify the Business name and Email fields.
What you can edit is their subscription:
- Change subscription plan (upgrade or downgrade)
- Change user seat count (increase or decrease)
- Change billing cycle (monthly or annual)
In addition, here you can read and edit the Business details field, which is a text field you can use for your own notes that will not be visible to clients.
When editing existing clients, the Send invitation email checkbox will be unchecked—even if you sent it when creating a new account. If you select this option now and save your changes, DeskTime will immediately send an invitation email with login information to the client’s email address. This could be useful if you did not send it initially but need to do it now, or the client requests that you resend the invitation email.
Can you delete clients from your Reseller Portal?
While resellers can add new clients and edit their existing clients, you do not have the option to delete any entries from your client list. That is because deleting their entries would also completely wipe their DeskTime accounts with all their data, settings, and preferences.
If a client decides to end their DeskTime subscription, what you should do instead is change their status to Suspended. This will stop their access to time tracking, and you will not be invoiced for their subscription fees, but their DeskTime account and its data will remain intact. If they decide to resume their subscription, you can activate their account, and they can immediately get back to tracking time just like before.
If you encounter a situation where deleting an entry is necessary (for example, a client specifically requests it), please contact our support team.