Settings for any DeskTime account can be changed at 3 levels:
Management Levels
At every level (Account, Team, and Team Member), you can manage Tracking, Screenshots, and Sidebar Navigation. In addition to that, there are other role-specific settings:
Account level
Scope: Manage all teams and members globally.
Extras: Access the Beta program.
Maintenance: Reset all data to match Account-level defaults.
Ownership: Company Owners can permanently delete the entire account.
Team level
Accessible from Settings > Teams.
Scope: Manage specific teams and their assigned members.
Maintenance: Reset team settings to match the Account defaults.
Ownership: Company Owners and Company Administrators can delete specific teams.
Team members level
Accessible from Settings > Team Members.
Scope: Manage settings for a single user, regardless of their team.
Member Profile: Update emails, passwords, team assignments, and roles.
Maintenance: Reset a member's settings to match their Team’s defaults.
Action: Archive or delete individual members.
In this same section, you can also edit the role of each user. Learn more about user roles here.
Keep in mind!
- Permissions: Only Company Owners, Company Administrators, and User Administrators (for their specific teams) can edit these settings.
Hierarchy: Team settings can override Account-wide settings.
Priority: Individual member settings take precedence over both Team and Account settings.
Additional settings
There are sections of these settings that you can adjust as necessary on each of these 3 levels.
- Working days: set up a schedule to start and finish work, and assign Minimum hours that users should spend actively working on the computer during the day.
- Tracking days: select the time when DeskTime will be tracking the users' data. The app will not track any activities outside the assigned hours/days.
- Screenshots: enable the feature, blur images, and set the screenshots' quality and frequency. Remember, you can enable screenshots on your MyDesktime page by clicking Show screenshots on the My Desktime page
- Tracking: Manage applications, activity, manual time tracking, and how employees can edit their tracked time.
- Sidebar customisation: Toggle which features appear in your team's side menu to keep their workspace clean and relevant.
- Time zone and Time format: Every DeskTime account has the option to set a time zone (Local time, based on your region) and time format. Some countries or regions prefer to use the 12-hour time format, where the day has two different 12-hour cycles (AM and PM).