As part of the DeskTime reseller program, your primary goal is to introduce DeskTime to your clients and convert them to paying subscribers. You are free to determine how much you charge your clients for their DeskTime licenses and how you collect their subscription fees. We will then invoice you at your discounted rate, so you keep the difference as margin.
While the majority of your sales pipeline (outreach, communication, sales contracts, payment, etc.) is at your discretion, each new client that you sell DeskTime to must be added to the Reseller Portal. This will allow us to provide your users with access to DeskTime and accurately invoice you for the licenses you have sold.
Keep in mind that newly added clients automatically enter a 2-week free trial period, during which they can use all DeskTime features and make an informed decision about becoming a paying client.
As a reseller, we recommend using this time to communicate with the client and make the necessary preparations on your end to transition them into paying customers, such as signing contracts, deciding on payment schedules, methods and the final price, etc.; it depends entirely on your sales process.
Note: You need to provide a valid payment method in Settings->Billing before you can add new clients as a reseller.
How to add a new client to your Reseller Portal
To add a new client, press the green Add new client button in the top right corner while you are in the Clients tab of the Reseller Portal. Doing so will reveal a pop-up form where you must provide the following details:
- Subscription plan: Select which DeskTime pricing tier is provided to your client. Note that the prices displayed here are what you pay to DeskTime (with your reseller discount applied). What you charge your clients as a reseller is up to you.
- User seats: Select the number of DeskTime user licenses you provide to the client. Each user within the company requires their own license. For example, if a client has 50 licenses, they can install DeskTime on 50 computers to track employee time.
- Billing cycle: Choose if this client pays the subscription fee monthly or annually. We will invoice you for monthly clients every month, and annual clients once a year.
- Business name: Enter the name of your client. Note that this will be visible to the client (it will appear as the recipient name for all DeskTime emails), so make sure it is accurate.
- Email: The client’s DeskTime license will be assigned to this email address, so make sure it is accurate and belongs to the correct person. Once they sign up for DeskTime with this email, they can add new users and reassign roles at will, but the initial DeskTime sign-up must be done with this exact email address.
- Business details (optional): Free text field for your own notes. This will not be visible to the client.
- Send invitation email: If this option is enabled, then, in addition to the default Welcome email that we send to all new DeskTime users, the client will also receive a customized invitation email.
Once you press the Create Account button, the client will instantly receive the Welcome to DeskTime email (and the invitation email if you enabled it), and they can sign up for DeskTime and start using their free 14-day trial right away. Once the trial period ends:
- If the client commits to a purchase, no action is required from you in the Reseller Portal. The client can keep on using DeskTime, and their license fee will be added to your invoice in their next billing cycle.
- If the client does not want to proceed with a subscription, press the Suspend button. The client’s DeskTime account will not be deleted—they will simply lose access to paid features. If at any point the client changes their mind and wishes to subscribe, you can press the Activate button.
How this looks from the client’s perspective
As a reseller, you are free to decide how to communicate with the client, onboard them, and collect their subscription fees. Each reseller may employ different sales and customer success procedures, client management systems, and payment methods, so the way your clients transition into paying customers is completely up to you.
That being said, regardless of how the client acquired DeskTime, the sign-up process is standardized for all new users. So, when you add a new client to your Reseller Portal, they will instantly receive one Welcome email (sent always), and one Invitation email (optional; only sent if you have selected this option for the client).
Welcome email
This email is automatically sent to all new DeskTime user accounts. It is sent immediately once you create a new client entry in your Reseller Portal with the provided ‘Business name’ and ‘Email’ values as the recipient.
This email marks the start of their free 2-week trial period, during which they can set up their user accounts, download DeskTime, and start tracking their time. This email includes a download link for the DeskTime desktop app, an invitation to book a call with customer support, a brief description of DeskTime's main features, and a link to DeskTime email preferences.
Invitation email
If you tick the Send invitation email checkbox when creating a new client entry, the new user will receive two DeskTime emails: Welcome and Invitation. While the Welcome email is for onboarding, the Invitation email contains the login information required to access their DeskTime account.
Without the login details, the user will not be able to access their account, so if you want the client to start using DeskTime right away, we recommend that you send the Invitation email. We included the option to not send this email to the client mainly for the following use cases:
- You plan to deliver the login details to the client in another way
- You plan to configure DeskTime for your client as part of your service
Logging into their new DeskTime account
The 2-week free trial period has started, which means that your client can log into their DeskTime account using their login details. The invitation email will contain a randomized password, which they will be prompted to change after a single use.
Their account’s role will be Owner, which means that they have full permissions to modify DeskTime settings. With this, they can start adding other users, create teams and assign roles to each user, and install the DeskTime app on their computers to start tracking time. We have included a simple onboarding wizard that guides new DeskTime clients through the setup process (this will only be displayed to the Owner).