In DeskTime, you can create new projects or edit the existing ones in the Projects section. However, if these options are unavailable or grayed out, it means the user does not have the required permissions.
Who can create a new project?
Users will have the option to create new projects only if the Enable new project creation setting has been enabled by the Company Owner or a Company Administrator. This can be configured in three levels:
- Account: company-wide defaults. If new project creation is disabled, no one can create new projects except teams or employees who have different settings.
- Teams: custom settings for specific teams. Any differences here will override the Account defaults. For example, you can enable project creation for all members except a specific team, e.g., Outsource.
- Member: employee-specific settings that override both Account and Team-level settings. For example, you can enable new project creation just for the team’s manager and disable it for anyone else.
For users with permissions, the Projects section will show a green + New Project button that can be clicked to create a new project and add it to the list.
For users without permissions, the button will appear grayed out, and they will not be able to create new projects.
Who can edit, delete, or archive existing projects?
Only three parties have permission to make changes to the already existing projects:
- Company Owner role
- Company Administrators role
- The user who created the project
This will be true for any project in the DeskTime Projects section, and the Enable new project creation setting described above does not affect the ability to edit existing projects.
So, if the Edit project button is grayed out on the project page, it means you don’t have permission to edit it. This was done to prevent accidental deletion or unauthorized edits to other team members’ tasks.
- Project creator (plus Admins and Owner) can edit the project (change its name, status, visibility, or budget), delete it, or archive it. They can also edit tasks and comments added by other team members.
- Other users can only view the project, add comments (and edit or delete only their own comments), create tasks (if permitted by DeskTime settings), and track time within the project.
Note: In each project’s settings, there are two visibility options. Visible to all will make it accessible to all users, whereas Limit visibility will allow access only for the selected teams or members.